top of page
Search
  • Robert Kennedy

Week 9

It’s already August and there are only 3 more weeks until I run out of time with this internship! Time certainly flies. As per a recommendation from my mentor who knows way more about HPCC than I, I setup a 3 computer cluster where one computer will be the main node for all except Thor processes and the other 2 computers will handle the computationally expensive tasks. For example, if I have a 16 Thor node system, on these 3 computers, the first computer just needs to have a decent CPU, HDD, and network connection. The other two computers need to have the GPUs, in this case 8 of them each. I will be using AWS’s P2.XX systems which provide the NVIDIA K80. I’m not sure if this was mentioned, but for GPU acceleration to work, you are basically limited to an NVIDIA GPU at the time of writing. The p2.8xlarge has 8 GPUs each, totaling the 16 needed for the 16 Thor nodes. I also worked on improving the efficiency of GNN when its run on many GPUs.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 11

This week all the code (major changes at least) is going to be unchanged. Other than cleaning it up for making a repo that others can use. No one wants to (or should have to) read poorly commented cod

Week 10

Nearing the home stretch. As part of trying to improve the efficiency of the GNN runtime across many GPUs, I started to experiment with using a different approach to using so many GPUs. A “normal” GNN

Week 8

Started work on writing an aws kubernetes blog. I am not most knowledgeable when it comes to kubernetes at this point, but at this point I think everything is good to go, assuming we have proper helm

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page