top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerobertken

Week 1

This is the first week of my internship. This is my second year with HPCC Systems, so the normal on boarding and acclimation period will happen quicker for me, which is great because I can get to work sooner!


My work is planned to be twofold. First will be a set of tools to create VM images, for various platforms, with HPCC Systems Platform pre-installed. Typically an ECL developer will have their own local HPCC in the form of a VM. This way they can easily and quickly develop. Since there is a lot of different virtualization hosts, creating a VM for each, every-time a new HPCC version comes out needs to be automated. Additionally, if there is any customization to the system, which we will discuss next, the automation will greatly help. My second part of my work will require the help of the first. I plan to build an ECL bundle that allows for an ECL developer to build, train, and consume neural networks on the HPCC Systems Platform utilizing GPU acceleration. GPUs, vs CPUs, are significantly faster when building neural networks.


First I have to get my work laptop setup, lots of software to install. ECL IDE, various programming languages, text editors, git, etc... Once this was complete, I could start the mandatory training. There are a lot of things to learn, think data security, HR rules, etc... Fairly typical I imagine, except LexisNexis has a ton of sensitive data, so there is definitely an emphasis on data security. Once this is complete, i can start real work. Which for this week will be to start work with packer.io and start building some VM images. This will be one of my deliverables and will greatly help the second part of my work.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 11

Beginning of the last sprint! This week I pull requested my packer.io code, which is now neatly organized, to the existing repo that generates other VM images. Just waiting on the repo owner's feedbac

Week 10

It's beginning to look a lot like the last mile! So work continues on the Bundle. This week I started to package my code and various logic into modules such that an ECL developer could easily use this

Week 9

This week seems to have been all about data. I populated my bundle with 7 popular (and open source) datasets for examples and experimentation within the bundle. These are very popular with the python

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page